Button, button, who’s got the button?

Monday, I went to the thrift stores around Denver in search of any sewing supplies I could find that would enhance my existing supplies. At the first thrift store, I found a large ziplock bag of zippers with real metal zippers (zips?). At the next one, I found nothing. At the last one, I found thread and buttons. I was thrilled with the button find because I don’t have any buttons at all, since I have avoided patterns that required them. I don’t know why, but I never felt excited about buttons. Until now, that is. Now, I have a ton of buttons and want to use them. So, now to think of projects in which I can use buttons.

When I got home, I decided to organize all my thread. I started colorgorizing (organizing by color) my bobbins.
Colorgorizing

Then I sorted the buttons by white, black, color, and navy blue. Why navy blue? Because there were so many navy blue buttons, and I didn’t really want them going in with the colors because they made the color buttons look darker, so I just gave them their own place to go. I don’t know…it just seemed that the navy blue outnumbered any other one color of the color buttons, and, well…anyway, that’s what I did.

Beginning the sort

Sorted!

Also, my little babies are growing and growing. Soon they’ll be big enough to transplant. I can’t wait to have plantlings all over. That’s one of the things I like about summer is all the plants I have. My geraniums are growing really well so far. They didn’t do so well last year, but I also started them really late in the year. But the snow today reminds me not to jump the gun on getting the plants outside, just in case we get bad weather at the end of April or beginning of May.
Baby geranium

Baby geranium.

Leave a Reply

